Comic-Con Blog

From Paradise to the Geek Prom

WordPress for iPhone

Right on the eve of Comic-Con, the folks at WordPress have released the “WordPress for iPhone” native app. The timing couldn’t be more perfect. Of course I should be able to post entries to this blog directly via the web, but the native app makes things a little more elegant and simple. Or so I hope.

I posted a couple of entries via the iPhone app earlier today. The biggest problem is that it doesn’t fail gracefully. A timeout error during publishing or getting interrupted and switching apps seems to mangle things. I get an “invalid post ID” error, or find (in both cases) an uploaded photo eaten. Then I or the app get confused as to whether I want to edit an “existing” post or an unpublished local draft. I feared either doubleposting or losing the post altogether.

Still, the “WordPress for iPhone” app speaks iPhone and WordPress.com (i.e. hosted WordPress), so that’s why I’ve set up this blog here. Here’s hoping this app and I get comfortable with each other over the next few crazy days.

July 22, 2008 - Posted by | Updates | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I am having the same problem with iPhone WordPress app. I get the invalid post ID error message. Does it only happen to you when you switch apps? I haven’t been able to post anything over my iPhone with the app, but I haven’t tried using it without switching apps. I keep trying to post the same post.

    Comment by Christopher | July 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. Same problem with my new iPhone 3G and the WordPress Software 1.0. Hope anyone has an idea or can help.

    Comment by officinej | July 30, 2008 | Reply

  3. this thing blows. I can’t post to my blog with it. What the hell does invalid post id mean anyway?

    Comment by abzme | August 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

